Union of Associations of European Football, more commonly known by its acronym as UEFA, is an organization that represents most of the national associations of football in Europe, runs national competitions and clubs in your area, and controls the prize money, regulations and media rights of communication to the competitions. Because of the border dispute between Europe and Asia, transcontinental countries, such as Turkey, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Armenia, and Russia, are members of UEFA rather than AFC, as are Israel and Cyprus, which are found entirely in Asia (Israel and Kazakhstan former AFC members). There are members who do not represent sovereign states, such as the Faroe Islands, England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland (Ireland FA). However, no unrecognized nation is a member of UEFA, with Monaco the only member of the European UN not a member of UEFA.


UEFA was founded on 15 June 1954 in Basel, Switzerland, after talks between the French, Italian and Belgian football associations. The headquarters were in Paris until 1959, when the organization moved to Bern. Henri Delaunay was the first secretary-general, and Ebbe Schwartz was the president. Its administrative center has been located in Nyon, Switzerland, since 1995. It was initially composed of 25 national associations. There are currently 53 associations. National teams from UEFA have won ten FIFA World Cup ([Italy] 4, Germany 3, England, France and Spain, a trophy each), and UEFA has won 21 Cups, Intercontinental and four Cups of the World of Clubs. In the women’s game, the selections UEFA has won three World Cups (Germany 2, Norway 1) and one Olympic gold medal (Norway).


Fifty-three national associations of football belong to the UEFA, representing all the independent states within the European continent, with the exception of Monaco and Vatican City, and three states of the Caucasus (Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia), Israel, Kazakhstan, Cyprus, and Turkey. It is important to mention that the four constituent countries of the United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland) participate separately (this exception is only in football and rugby), and that the Faroe Islands autonomous archipelago competes independently with Denmark.


Male Tournaments

  • Classification of UEFA to the World Football Cup.
  • Euro: tournament started in 1958, with the first finals in 1960, and known as the European Cup of Nations until 1964, is the main tournament for national men’s teams.
  • Eurocopa Sub-21.
  • European championship of the UEFA Sub-19.
  • European championship u-17 UEFA.
  • Meridian Cup with CAF for young teams from Europe and Africa.
  • UEFA Regions Cup, for selections of non-professional players.
  • UEFA Amateur Cup played between 1967 and 1978 for the amateur selections.
  • UEFA Futsal Championship: European Championship of football teams sala.

Tournaments Female

  • Women’s championship UEFA
  • Championship European Women’s under-19 UEFA
  • Championship European Women’s under-17 UEFA

Club Tournaments

  • League of Champions of UEFA: (UEFA Champions League), a competition contested for the first time in 1955 with the name of “European Cup of Clubs Champions (European Champions Clubs’ Cup) until 1991.
  • UEFA Europa League: competition established by UEFA in 1971 with the name of “UEFA Cup” (UEFA Cup) as the successor of the Fairs Cup, a competition not affiliated to the European confederation and, therefore, not considered among the “UEFA club competitions” (UEFA club competitions)
  • UEFA Supercup: competition instituted in 1973, between the winner of the European Cup of Champions Clubs-UEFA Champions League and the winner of the UEFA Cup Cup (since 1999 it was replaced by the winner of the UEFA-UEFA Europa League Cup))
  • UEFA Cup winners ‘ cup (1961-1999): also known as the “European Cup of Clubs Winners of Cups” (UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup) was a competition reserved for club champions tournament national cup.
  • UEFA Intertoto Cup (1995-2008): competition instituted by UEFA in 1995 as the successor of the Karl Rappan Cup, a competition not affiliated with the European confederation.
  • Intercontinental Cup (1960-2004): also Known as the “European Cup-South American” (European-South American Cup), or, since 1980, as a “Toyota Cup” (Toyota Cup), which was jointly organized between the European Union of Football Associations, and the South American Football Confederation and reserved for the winner of the European Cup of Champions Clubs-UEFA Champions League and the Libertadores Cup of America. The tournament is considered the precursor to the FIFA World Club Championship.

Other tournaments

  • Women’s UEFA Champions League for women’s football clubs.
  • UEFA Futsal Cup: European championship of clubs of football.